The Unsung Hero Award is designed to reward and celebrate amazing Non-Medical / Non-Clinical NHS & Healthcare Staff and Volunteers. Whose hard work, dedication and commitment on a daily basis often will go unnoticed.


  • The Unsung Hero Award gives you the opportunity to nominate NHS non-medical staff in a national competition, individuals who often do not receive the recognition they deserve.
  • The awards are free to enter.
  • Just entering will mean that you and your nominee/s of choice will have a chance to be invited to the live award ceremony the following year, which is dedicated entirely to praising NHS non-medical professionals.
  • All nominees will receive a free certificate stating that they have been recognised as an Unsung Hero of the NHS.


Are you a manager within the NHS? Make your organisation stand out!

  • The Unsung Hero Award is the best way to highlight the hard work of your unsung non-medical / non-clinical heroes.
  • The awards can help you raise your employees’ profiles within your organisation.
  • The awards are a great way to engage your staff by involving them in nominating their peers for the daily work they do.
  • You can give your unsung heroes an opportunity to attend an amazing event at a lovely venue surrounded by other nominees and nominators.
  • The awards help to spread positive news about non-medical workers across the UK – put your hospital on the map and become a pioneer in your area.
  • Position your trust as a frontrunner and increase employee satisfaction in a new and innovate way.
  • Providing recognition for a job well done is vital for maintaining employee morale and productivity.


To get a better idea about what makes people true Unsung Heroes, as well as how winning this award can affect their lives positively  – both personally and professionally, take a look at what some of our past nominators and winners had to say about the Unsung Hero Award... 

Enid Dunn, 2017 winner, explaining what it felt like to be recognised:


Unsung Hero Award 2017 - Quotes from Nominations: 

3 September 2018
Nominations Open
16 November 2018
Nominations Deadline
7 January 2019
Shortlist Announcement
1 March 2019
Award Ceremony